benWorks

My attempt at joining the masses

Firefox 3 RC1 and extensions revisited.

So I have finally switched to Firefox 3 full time. There so many improvements that everyone else has talked about so I won’t go into them here. The biggest thing holding me back was extension compatibilities. The most important one Google Browser Sync is not and quite possibly will not be compatible with Firefox 3 any time soon. Enter Mozilla Labs Weave. This promises to be a very good replacement to GBS and possibly so much more. So far it meets my needs perfectly and I look forward to the future of this project.

Some other extensions that I use (read: can’t live without) are Tab Mix Plus and Sage-Too. For Tab Mix Plus you need to download a Dev build for Firefox 3. So far it works flawlessly. Sage-too is a fork of the popular Sage RSS reader that has not seen any development for a year or so. I happy to see someone pick up this extension and port it to FF3.

The last one that I also really like is Download Statusbar. It also works well with FF3.

Those are my main picks. Check back for some more details on these extensions in future posts.

Later and enjoy.

May 20, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | , | 2 Comments